top of page

It's The Beginning of The End - Cue Scary Movie Instrumental

The very day we have dreaded is upon us. Follow me on the journey to the beginning of the end!

*Disclaimer: This post may or may not cause collephobia (The fear of college. Totally made up.) read at your own risk

 

The first week of college, definitely nothing like high-school. There are many more faces, many more personalities and even many more cuties? Yeah this place is most certainly a whole new world. But we will not cringe or hide in the nearest bathroom stall - this is not the first year of post-secondary or secondary school, this is the first year of college. There is no time to fear.

Okay so maybe finding that building for your early morning ENC 1101 class is just as impossible as retrieving a needle from a hay stack or you may just have literally only five seconds to eat your breakfast and finally put your right leg into your jeans. Then maybe you should frieght a bit. But while you invent a new jig for getting into those oh so sweet summer skinnies, stop and praise yourself for deciding to start this new chapter in your life. You have done it, you have made it to college.

Now I know the first week of college should not be the hardest. I mean come on, campus advisors are in the student union distributing campus maps, the cafe is booming with the delicious smells of fresh muffins and that oh so wonderful vanilla mochalatte, all seems wonderful. But do not forget to make sure you are fully prepared.

If your first week of college was anything like mine, then I feel nothing but sympathy for you. That morning my mother dropped me off, rather early at that (I am talking three-hours before my first class starts, early) I felt as if I walked into a jungle. There were an array of heads popping from all over, random persons bumping into me trying to locate their new classes, and of course the swollen lines spewing into the hallways. It was a mess.

Now here is a little factoid about me, I graduated from a rather small high-school, meaning I knew everyone that stepped into a building and that person in turn would know or at least recognize me; not in college. On the first day, I could not find a single soul that I at least recognized (mind you that this is a community college!) and I would be lying if I said that this did not overwhelm me.

But alas, I could not stand there as if to be a deer mesmerized by headlights, I had to exchange my metaphorical high-school-ups (Pull-ups for high-schoolers. Creative, I know.) for college-panties (Boxers for others) and hold my chest high. And while I pretended to know exactly what I was doing, I eventually found myself observing and patting myself on the back. Remember that I mentioned the long lines? Yeah, those lines were due to procrastinators. Those lines were a conjunction of kids who did not have a fairy-life-has-hit-me-godmother. See what I did there?

These procrastinators also may or may have not been so enticed by this new chapter in their life that they forgot the reality of this chapter that follows. I am talking making sure your financial aid has no holds, making sure you actually have a student I.D (You would think they would have done this during orientation, but no judgement here) and most certainly making sure you have your books. Seeing those lines left me flabbergasted. I was sincerely taken aback by the mere fact that these students may have waited far too long to get their life together. In a sense I felt bad. And so for you students who may relate to this, here is a five last minutes tips to get you by!

Tip One: Avoiding Holds on Your Financial Aid

I understand that although the semester has fully begun and it is hard to turn back time (Oh how we all wish we could), this tip will still serve as useful for next semester. When it comes to Financial Aid, complete your FAFSA before you visit the school or even settle on a school. This way you can handle your holds before it is too late. You may even also cash-in for a bit more aid!

Tip Two: Purchasing Books

When wading in the water of should i or should I not purchase my books early, avoid the latter. You may find yourself purchasing an unnecessary book, but at least you were prepared! And if your college is anything like mine, you can always return the books within the same week of purchase.

Tip Three: Signing Up for Classes Last Minute

Although I highly advise that you avoid this altogether, should you find yourself in this situation I may can help you. I quickly learned through my summer trips back and forth to my college campus (trying to make sure my account held no holds), that if you show promptness and politeness, campus advisors will stretch their necks to help you. Remember in my last post I encouraged you to ask for help moving, well the same goes for college. I made sure I knew my advisor by name and still kept up with her during the first week of school. Also, when signing up for classes, even if this is last minute, do not neglect "Rate My Professor". It is a lifesaver.

Tip Four: Spending Financial Aid Early

Do NOT. I repeat, do NOT spend your Financial Aid early unnecessarily. Again, if your college is anything like mine, the disbursement date for Financial Aid is far beyond us (Two to three weeks after the semester begins), which means your college may or may not have allowed you to use your Financial Aid in the bookstore. This means that anything in that bookstore is fair game to tap into your Financial Aid. This also means that you need to simply purchase your books and high-tail it outta there! Do NOT be the student who makes the bookstore their snack-purchasing headquarters, using their Financial Aid carelessly. I promise, that student will greatly regret that when they see their remaining balance on the day that the disbursements drop.

Tip Five: Adapting to The Changes

Aside from the maintenance of your transition (In regards to making sure your slate is clean before the semester begins), your transition in college is just as important. Remember my P.L.A.N. acronym? Yeah well it still stands for transitioning in college as well. Especially the letter N. Never. Never allow yourself to grow overwhelmed by the demands of school or those overdone syllabuses. College is not easy, but it will not always be challenging either. Simply take a breather and appreciate the fact that you are here. I know with this new wave coming is casting over you at once, you could find yourself drowning in the sea of this new life. But should you allow yourself to make these inevitable mistakes and actually take these challenges like a champ, you will surely be able to stay afloat.

So in the meantime my little procrastinators, you can always rectify your mistakes. No matter the problem, college is all about figuring out how to solve and resolve theses problems. And next time, do not wait to gather everything before the semester starts do what needs to be done, ahead of time.

Until then, you can count on me to guide you through it all. I promise you will survive because it is all According to M.E!

Meet the author!

Marilyn Edmond is a current community college freshman from Tallahassee Florida. She is studying to become a Civil/Human Rights lawyer; majoring in sociology with a minor in english. Here's what she has to say...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

College

Community College

Advice

Writer

Reader

bottom of page